Wild Boar Dinner

12-boars-head

Last night was fun.  We fed 40 people, ate wild boar, got to throw a dinner in a posh Van Ness victorian, and no wine was spilled on the persian rugs….all good.  My friend and guest chef Ellen (Radical Radish), cooked up a really amazing ragu of wild boar and Heirloom tomatoes.  I love eating wild meat.  As I begin to think more about the meat I eat. Where it comes from, what effect it’s having on me/the planet/the animal, I get more excited about wild game. The boar we ate last night was fed on the wild mushrooms and fresh acorns.

It lived a full life, and then it died, as all animals do.  When I eat wild game, I feel more connected with the place I live, and the animal I’m eating.  Instead of trying to block out the thoughts of the animals life, I relish in these thoughts.  I think of them walking through the forest, sniffing out chanterelles, laying in the sun. I realize this is romanticizing the issue, but for me, it really does feel better. Below is the menu from last night.  If you want to check out pictures from the dinner, go to http://tiny.cc/nCYAc, password : radish If you want to get on the list to be notified about the next one, email wildkitchen@gmail.com.

Amuse Bouche

of

Nectar Filled Passion Vine Flowers

Firsts

Wild Nettle Fritters

with

Foraged Citrus Spike Creme Fraiche

and

Marin Roots Arugula and Sweet Corn

Seconds

Local Albacore Tuna Crudo

With

Red Onions, Balsamic

and

Fried Bolinas Sea Beans

Thirds

Wild Boar and Heirloom Tomato Ragu

over

Fresh Chili, Spinach, and Egg Pasta

Fourths

Marin Roots Summer Squash Soup

and

Wild Fennel Pollan

Ends

Foraged Blueberry and Cornmeal Gallete

With

Frozen Hand Whipped Rose-Geranium Whipped Cream

Thanks!

2 responses to “Wild Boar Dinner

  1. Haha am I literally the first comment to your incredible writing?!?

Leave a Reply

